Café Solo (2013)

Benjamin Herman:

“This album is special for me in the sense that I wanted the actual sound of my horn to be the focus on this album. Not chops or material. With just Ernst and Joost there’s so much space in the music.

I had actually never tried recording an album this way. Joost and Ernst set up behind me and I leaned back in a chair (!), we recorded the first tune and it turned out lovely. We decided to stick to that for the whole session. Once again kudos to engineer Joeri Saal at Studio 150. The old Studer reel to reel tape recorder and the studio’s jumbo collection of vintage equipment help but he is definitely the one doing the magic.”


1 Namely You (Gene de Paul, Johnny Mercer)
2 Reflections (Thelonious Monk)
3 Summertime (George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward)
4 Cabin In The Sky (Vernon Duke)
5 Isfahan (Ellington, Strayhorn)
6 Begin The Beguine (Cole Porter)
7 End Of A Love Affair (Edward C. Redding)
8 You’ve Changed (Bill Carey, Carl Fischer)
9 Yakhal’ Inkomo (Winston ‘Mankunku’ Ngozi)
10 Soy Califa (Dexter Gordon)
iTunes Bonustrack
11 Finch Eye (Theo Loevendie)